• This forum is currently in Read-Only mode and will not accept new threads, posts or responses.

To Sign Up for the New Forum, click here: https://www.cco.us/cco-forum/

CPC or CPB exam

Katy Shao

Laureen,

I need help on choosing which exam i should take? I also want to know is that which one will help me more in the real world when I go find a job? I know for sure I am good at billing and I know alot of insurance. Right now I am trying to study for the CPC exam but it is very hard though. I need help !

Laureen

Queen Instructor
Staff member
Administrator
Blitzer
PBC Student (CPC®)
CCO Club Member
CCO Support Staff
MTA Student
ICD-10-CM Student
PPM Student (CPPM®)
FBC Student (CPC-H®)
What course are you currently taking? What tasks do you prefer coding or billing?

Katy Shao

Before I have taken a Medical billing and coding course and I graduated from the school, I have taken the cpc exam back in 2011 and did not pass. But now I am trying to study for the CPC exam but its too hard. I feel like i like billing more then coding. But when I go find a job will it be easy to find? Because I noticed most of the jobs here in Houston required that you have a CPC Certification. So I am not sure what should I do?

Laureen

Queen Instructor
Staff member
Administrator
Blitzer
PBC Student (CPC®)
CCO Club Member
CCO Support Staff
MTA Student
ICD-10-CM Student
PPM Student (CPPM®)
FBC Student (CPC-H®)
I think that is because the billing credential from the AAPC is still new compared to the CPC. Obviously if you like billing more then you should stick with that but I would still work toward getting your CPC in your own time. It is hard b/c it is new but we find by the time our students get to the 5th chapter it is much easier for them.

Katy Shao